Learning new ways




Hai buddies!

Can I just say I love blogging. It has brought me so much closer to people I never knew I’d be close to. By dishing it all and being honest I’ve learned that people are more open and trusting with me. Anyways, last night I went out to dinner with my friend Maggie (HEY MAGGIE!!!). I graduated with her brother and she’s a class older than me but we were never friends in high school. It actually wasn’t until yesterday that we ever hung out or even met I think. (Funny because I’ve been to her house a whole butt load of times).

Maggie is a blog connoisseur for sure. She reads them, appreciates them, understands them. She (from what I can imagine) is a great cook too because she appreciates the time and art of cooking. So naturally through facebook, twitter, and blogs Maggie and I realized we are similar in some ways (um not the cooking way…).

So yesterday Maggie and I went to Moes (I’m over my moe’s obsession by the way, I realized how bland it was yesterday… I need some good mexican in my life before I go insane) for dinner. I think we sat there for another 2 hours after we ate just talking. It was insane. She (and from reading this you will now know this maggie!) completely helped me in ways she probably didn’t (or did) know. She has found such a balance between exercising and food and the whole battle with “healthy eating” and the misconceptions that it can make in a person. She through just 2 hours of talking with me made me realize that I need to appreciate more out of life, food, and my body. She has come a long way for herself and I envy her for that (jk 🙂 I’m so happy for her!!). I wish she had a blog so I could tell you all to go follow her but she sadly is a behind the scenes kinda girl.

Beyond all of Maggie’s greatness she has also introduced me to Preztel Logic at our local ice cream shop. Let’s just say the second I have this ice cream I’ll give you all the address for the shop and we can all go and eat it together because it’s about to me amazeballs.

Moral of today’s story- Find that balance. Live for yourself, not for a size not for a #. Enjoy the foods that you eat. Don’t live your day to day life filling your meals with near 0 calorie foods so that you can eat the most of that with the least amount of calories for the day. I used to be such a Hungry Girl fan- but I (and Maggie has too) come to realize she fakes too much. Why fake an ice cream sandwich by having rice cakes and coolwhip? Budget your day so you can have a real ice cream sandwich if that is what you want. MODERATION PEOPLE, one won’t make you fat. I know easier said than done, but I’m trying- and if you filed under this, you should try too! Appreciating a more delicious meal, even if it’s smaller- over a hefty faked out low calorie meal with little taste is what I am trying to change myself into.

—-

Had my dr’s appointment with the concussion clinic thursday…and great news from them!

For starters I am not crazy!! The depression/ mood swings/ anger is from the brain injury! So they set me up with a sports therapist there. As for the head aches, those are still no bueno BUT I’m seeing this dr. again monthly to learn tricks and be able to manage them. Also I’m going to start seeing a PT at this clinic so they can get me back into running and doing high impact exercise- for now I’m told to take it easy and what not but that they will help me find ways to do the things I love and tolerate the head ache and know when to stop.

Also got some medicine to help with the head aches and sleeping!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As for the rest of stuff I’ve been doing…..bought that fancy gold watch with my corporate money ;), bought some TOMS to look hip, and saw a bear in fayetteville…NBD
Q- WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING??? (note I HAVE been blogging, just over at http://www.skinnyforme.tumblr.com) I PROMISE ILL START DOING MORE HERE
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Learning new ways

  1. I’m glad the doctor’s appointment went well and they’re setting you up for more appointments! Not really a Moe’s fan because I’d rather have real Mexican but it sounds like you had a good time hanging out with your friend. Totally with you on the deprivation thing with food, and also people working out to work off food- work out because you enjoy it not because you ate too much or something, that really gets to me too.

  2. Maggie sounds like an AWESOME girl and I love your mindset towards health .. It is so healthy haha! I am glad to hear things are beginning to work out better for your brain injury as well-woo hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

