Ohh the dreaded binge….

I got this message on my tumblr a little while ago but I wanted to answer this here as well because I feel like it’s important to whoever said it- because I know it is something many of us struggle with and it is something that needs to always be discussed and figured out.

A binge comes from deprivation- number one I would re-evaluate your food log, you might not be eating enough. Also look at what foods you are eating, are you eating a lot of processed foods? a lot of sugar? I read somewhere once “when you eat a lot of junk, you crave even more junk” and I usually thing of that when I start eating crap.

For example- When ever I go to wegmans in order to not go nutty on the bulk candy- i keep in mind the more i eat it the more im going to want more. Keep it simple I also once read “the first bite is the same as the last” aka, you don’t need to have 20 chocolate covered pretzles…the first 5 are just as good and you don’t need to over do it.

As for when a binge does start happening- and you know you are binging (because lets be honest we know when we are), stop yourself. Go upstairs- brush your teeth. Go open your lap top and stalk some blogs, or mindlessly search facebook… how about this site (www.stumbleupon.com) itll keep you busy.

Also binges come from something more usually (even more than calorie deprivation). They are almost always emotional. The only way to stop the binges- fix the problem. What are you upset about? Is work stressing you out? A boy (or girl)? A family problem? It could be the vicious cycle “I eat because I’m fat and I’m fat because I eat” <— sup Fat Bastard from Austin Powers- but he’s right. Think of what is going to make you happier in the long run- that bag of oreos, or being happy with yourself, your life, and your body. All in all the self and body are going to win out.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ohh the dreaded binge….

  1. Love you. We all lose control sometimes. It’s unfortunate, but bloggies help us out ❤

  2. Amy @ countrystrong21

    Thanks for sharing this! I’ve definitely been stuck in that trap that “I eat because I’m fat and I’m fat because I eat” thing. Yea, it sucks but I know only I can get myself out of that trap!

    Something (one of the few things) I learned in an economics class is the law of diminishing returns…and I’ve heard it applied to food before too! The first bite of something is the best and after that it’s not giving you as much satisfaction. So why continue to eat something when it’s really not satisfying you as much as those first few initial bites?

Leave a Reply

